Gold Rail Line

Facts & figures

Gold rail line facts

  • Length (miles): 11.2
  • Vehicle Type: Electric commuter rail
  • Stations: 7
  • Parking: 2,300 (opening day) 2,890 (2030)
  • Frequency of Service: 15 min (6 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.) / 30 min (early a.m., late p.m.)

Gold rail line at a glance

  • The Gold Line is part of RTD’s 2004 voter-approved FasTracks plan to expand transit across the Denver metro region.
  • The 11.2-mile electric commuter rail line will connect Denver’s Union Station to Wheat Ridge, passing through northwest Denver, Adams County and Arvada.
  • The Gold Line will feature seven stations: 41st-Fox, Pecos Junction, Clear Creek-Federal, 60th & Sheridan-Arvada Gold Strike, Olde Town Arvada, Arvada Ridge and Wheat Ridge-Ward.

Project overview

  • 2006: RTD FasTracks began a transit-alternatives study that resulted in an Environmental Impact Statement (EIS).
  • 2007: The Federal Transit Administration (FTA) selected the Gold and East Rail lines for its public-private partnership pilot program, giving birth to the Eagle P3 project.
  • 2009: RTD FasTracks released a final EIS; received an FTA Record of Decision, signaling the completion of the environmental process; and released a request for proposals to seek a private partner to design, build, finance, operate and maintain the Gold and East rail lines.
  • 2010: RTD FasTracks selected Denver Transit Partners as its Eagle P3 contractor and concessionaire under a 34-year contract.
  • 2011: Eagle P3 received a $1.03 billion Full Funding Grant Agreement from the FTA, the largest awarded by the Obama administration at the time. Construction began.

Gold rail line map

FasTracks Gold Rail Line Map

Updated March 2018